Ole Miss Merit Scholarships · 2026–27
The University of Mississippi publishes one automatic scholarship for out-of-state freshmen, the Academic Merit Scholarship, set entirely by high school GPA and ACT or SAT score. There is no separate application: gaining admission triggers consideration. Awards run from $3,000 to $20,790 a year, and the top cell equals the university's full nonresident fee of $20,790. The award pays toward that fee specifically, and the university says it is renewable for up to four years as long as its terms and conditions are met.
Published by the University of Mississippi, non-resident freshman merit scholarships, as posted on September 18, 2026, labeled for 2026-2027 Non-Resident Freshmen.
Mississippi residents do not pay the nonresident fee, so the out-of-state Academic Merit Scholarship on this page does not apply to them. The university publishes a separate automatic grid for Mississippi resident freshmen, by ACT or SAT and GPA, on its own page. CollegeClearly does not tabulate or calculate that grid here because the university's current page for it carries a different year label than its cost figures; the link below goes to the university's page.
University of Mississippi: Mississippi resident freshman merit scholarships
The published chart
Annual amounts as the university publishes them for 2026-27 nonresident freshmen. Switch to four years to see each cell multiplied by four, which is CollegeClearly's arithmetic and assumes the award renews every year.
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| GPA | No test score | ACT 24–25 SAT 1160–1220 |
ACT 26–27 SAT 1230–1290 |
ACT 28–29 SAT 1300–1350 |
ACT 30–31 SAT 1360–1410 |
ACT 32+ SAT 1420+ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3.0–3.49 | $3,000$12,000 | $4,000$16,000 | $5,000$20,000 | $8,000$32,000 | $10,000$40,000 | $15,000$60,000 |
| 3.5–3.74 | $5,000$20,000 | $7,000$28,000 | $8,000$32,000 | $10,000$40,000 | $15,000$60,000 | $20,790$83,160 |
| 3.75+ | $8,000$32,000 | $9,000$36,000 | $10,000$40,000 | $12,000$48,000 | $18,000$72,000 | $20,790$83,160 |
Annual amounts as published PublishedEach published annual amount multiplied by four, assuming renewal every year CollegeClearly arithmetic
Superscores are accepted for ACT and SAT, but subscores must come from the same test. The university does not state whether the GPA is weighted or unweighted.
Find your tier
Enter the GPA your high school reports and a best ACT or SAT score, or leave the score out to use the No Test Score column. The result is read from the published chart using the same evaluator the CollegeClearly calculator uses.
Ole Miss does not say whether it uses weighted or unweighted GPA. Enter the GPA your school reports; the actual award is the university's decision.
What the award pays toward
Out-of-state tuition at Ole Miss is $31,068 a year and resident tuition is $10,278. The difference, $20,790, is the nonresident fee, and the Academic Merit Scholarship pays toward that fee. At the top tier the award equals the whole fee, so a nonresident at that tier pays the same tuition as a Mississippi resident.
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| Annual award Published | Tuition and fees after award Arithmetic |
Cost of attendance after award Arithmetic |
|---|---|---|
| $20,790 Top tier | $10,438 | $32,148 |
| $18,000 | $13,228 | $34,938 |
| $15,000 | $16,228 | $37,938 |
| $12,000 | $19,228 | $40,938 |
| $10,000 | $21,228 | $42,938 |
| $9,000 | $22,228 | $43,938 |
| $8,000 | $23,228 | $44,938 |
| $7,000 | $24,228 | $45,938 |
| $5,000 | $26,228 | $47,938 |
| $4,000 | $27,228 | $48,938 |
| $3,000 | $28,228 | $49,938 |
| No award | $31,228 | $52,938 |
Tuition and fees and cost of attendance are the university's published 2026-27 figures for a student living in campus housing. The after-award columns subtract the annual award; that is CollegeClearly's arithmetic, and it does not include need-based aid or any other scholarship. What Ole Miss costs before any scholarship.
Conditions the university publishes
- Automatic with admission. There is no separate application for the Academic Merit Scholarship.
- Qualifying tests must be taken before enrolling as a new freshman. Superscores are accepted for both ACT and SAT, with subscores from the same test only.
- Renewable for up to four years as long as all terms and conditions are met. The university's terms are linked in the sources below; CollegeClearly does not restate a renewal GPA or credit requirement here.
- The award pays toward the nonresident fee. It does not stack with the Academic Success Non-Resident award, and the National Merit Academic Excellence award cannot be stacked with it.
- A freshman, for these awards, has not earned more than 18 college credit hours after high school graduation.
- The university does not specify whether the GPA it uses is weighted or unweighted.
Sources: merit scholarship page and scholarship terms and conditions, University of Mississippi.
Other automatic awards that depend on something besides GPA and test score
The university lists these as automatic on the same page. Each depends on a status, location, major, or achievement the chart does not capture, so CollegeClearly does not calculate them.
- Academic Excellence National Merit Finalist or SemifinalistFull tuition, the standard double-occupancy room rate, and the nonresident feeRequires: National Merit Finalist or Semifinalist status; cannot be stacked with the Academic Merit award
- National Merit Finalist Scholarship$1,000 a yearRequires: Finalist status with Ole Miss named as first choice
- Barnard Scholarship$5,000 a yearRequires: National Merit Finalist status and a 3.0 or higher GPA
- J. Means Non-Resident Scholarship$5,000 to $8,000 totalRequires: Residents of Shelby, Tipton, and Fayette counties, Tennessee, with a 3.75 GPA, or a 3.0 GPA with a 24 ACT
- STEM Major Non-Resident Scholarship$2,000 a year toward the nonresident feeRequires: 3.5 GPA, 28 ACT, and a listed STEM major
- High School Valedictorian or Salutatorian$2,000 a yearRequires: Named valedictorian or salutatorian
- Student Body President$1,500 a yearRequires: Elected student body president
- Eagle Scout or Gold Award$1,500 a yearRequires: Eagle Scout or Gold Award
- Boys State or Girls State Governor$1,000 a yearRequires: Elected governor, or state delegate to Boys or Girls Nation
Competitive scholarships: an application, a deadline, and no published thresholds
These require admission and the Freshman Scholarship Application by January 10 before fall admission. The university publishes no GPA or test score requirement for any of them and selects recipients individually. CollegeClearly does not estimate them and does not estimate a student's chances.
- Stamps ScholarshipUp to cost of attendance after other awards, plus a $12,000 stipend
- OMWC Scholarships$10,000 a year
- Ole Miss First Scholarship$4,500 a year
- Doris Raymond Honors Scholarship$8,000 a year, Honors College selection
- Croft Scholarship$8,000 a year, international studies
- Toyota-Haley Barbour Scholarship$8,000 a year, Center for Manufacturing Excellence
- Chinese and Arabic Language Flagship Scholarships$8,000 a year plus program add-ons
- Engineering scholarships (several named awards)$2,000 to $6,000 a year
- Accountancy scholarships (several named awards)$3,000 a year
- University endowed and foundation scholarships$500 to $8,718 a year
- Chancellor's Leadership Class$1,000, first year only; nomination and selection required
Source: non-resident freshman competitive scholarships, University of Mississippi, captured September 18, 2026.
See what this scholarship changes for your family
The chart tells you the award. It does not tell you what is left after it: the rest of the four-year cost, what your family can contribute, and what any borrowing would mean. The CollegeClearly calculator takes your tier and shows the rest.
See What Ole Miss Would Cost After Merit→Two minutes. Free. No account needed. Your tier carries over.
About these numbers
The scholarship chart, conditions, and the other automatic and competitive awards on this page are taken from the University of Mississippi's published pages for 2026-27 nonresident freshmen, captured by CollegeClearly on September 18, 2026. Amounts are shown as the university publishes them. The university's grid page is labeled for 2026-2027 nonresident freshmen.
Four-year values are CollegeClearly's arithmetic: the annual amount multiplied by four, which assumes the award is renewed every year. The university states the award is renewable for up to four years as long as its terms and conditions are met; those terms are the university's and are linked here rather than restated.
The tier finder reads the published chart with the same evaluator the CollegeClearly calculator uses. It applies the highest cell a profile qualifies for and does not add other awards. It accepts the GPA a family enters and does not convert between weighted and unweighted scales, because the university does not state which it uses. The next-tier figures are the difference between two published cells, multiplied by four.
Tuition and cost of attendance figures come from the university's cost of attendance page as captured on the same date and are the basis of the after-award columns; see the Ole Miss cost page for those figures and their sources.
Figures are for informational purposes only and are not financial advice. The university makes every award decision. Verify with the University of Mississippi Office of Financial Aid.
How CollegeClearly uses published merit criteria: methodology.