← Back to CollegeClearlySample Report. A fictional Tennessee family and five colleges, prepared October 28, 2026 from the colleges’ published figures. About the Report · Begin yours
CollegeClearly

Your CollegeClearly Report

5 collegesStarting college 2027–28GPA 3.60 unweighted, 3.90 weightedACT 31, retest December 12$10,000 a year from income$30,000 in savings

Prepared October 28, 2026. About a five-minute read. The research behind every figure is in More details at the end.

1 · Your colleges compared

What each college could mean for your family’s finances

After scholarships and grants we can count, $10,000 a year from your income, and your $30,000 in savings, here is what your family would borrow, pay each month, and repay in total.

Total repaid, including interest
BorrowedInterest
Ole Missout-of-state
$208,077
Fully covered
Auburnout-of-state
$226,458
+ $95,198 not covered
Alabamaout-of-state
$191,557
Fully covered
UTin-state
$109,963
Fully covered
Harvardsingle published rate
$226,458
+ $241,574 not covered before aid
Ole Missout-of-stateAuburnout-of-stateAlabamaout-of-stateUTin-stateHarvardsingle published rate
Four-year cost$211,752$254,160$241,600$120,848$400,536
Scholarships and grants counted$60,000None counted$96,000None countedNone counted
From your income and savings$70,000$70,000$70,000$70,000$70,000
Total borrowed
$84,471
Student $27,000
Parent $57,471
$92,000
Student $27,000
Parent $65,000
$78,048
Student $27,000
Parent $51,048
$52,203
Student $27,000
Parent $25,203
$92,000
Student $27,000
Parent $65,000
Monthly payments, together
$934/mo
Student $269 for 15 years
Parent $665 for 20 years
$1,011/mo
Student $269 for 15 years
Parent $742 for 20 years
$865/mo
Student $269 for 15 years
Parent $596 for 20 years
$611/mo
Student $269 for 15 years
Parent $342 for 15 years
$1,011/mo
Student $269 for 15 years
Parent $742 for 20 years
Total repaid, with interest
$208,077
$123,606 is interest
$226,458
$134,458 is interest
$191,557
$113,509 is interest
$109,963
$57,760 is interest
$226,458
$134,458 is interest
Not covered yetNothing$95,198
Starting in year 2
NothingNothing$241,574
At the published price, before need-based aid
Ole Missout-of-state
Four-year cost
$211,752
Scholarships and grants counted
$60,000
From income and savings
$70,000
Total borrowed
$84,471Student $27,000 · Parent $57,471
Monthly, together
$934Student $269 for 15 years · Parent $665 for 20 years
Total repaid
$208,077$123,606 is interest
Not covered yet
Nothing
Auburnout-of-state
Four-year cost
$254,160
Scholarships and grants counted
None counted
From income and savings
$70,000
Total borrowed
$92,000Student $27,000 · Parent $65,000
Monthly, together
$1,011Student $269 for 15 years · Parent $742 for 20 years
Total repaid
$226,458$134,458 is interest
Not covered yet
$95,198Starting in year 2
Alabamaout-of-state
Four-year cost
$241,600
Scholarships and grants counted
$96,000
From income and savings
$70,000
Total borrowed
$78,048Student $27,000 · Parent $51,048
Monthly, together
$865Student $269 for 15 years · Parent $596 for 20 years
Total repaid
$191,557$113,509 is interest
Not covered yet
Nothing
UTin-state
Four-year cost
$120,848
Scholarships and grants counted
None counted
From income and savings
$70,000
Total borrowed
$52,203Student $27,000 · Parent $25,203
Monthly, together
$611Student $269 for 15 years · Parent $342 for 15 years
Total repaid
$109,963$57,760 is interest
Not covered yet
Nothing
Harvardsingle published rate
Four-year cost
$400,536
Scholarships and grants counted
None counted
From income and savings
$70,000
Total borrowed
$92,000Student $27,000 · Parent $65,000
Monthly, together
$1,011Student $269 for 15 years · Parent $742 for 20 years
Total repaid
$226,458$134,458 is interest
Not covered yet
$241,574Before need-based aid
Who owes what. Your student’s loans are in your student’s name. Parent PLUS loans are in a parent’s name, and that parent alone is responsible for them. Payments on both start six months after graduation, so for years your household would be paying both at once. Every plan here relies on a parent being approved for Parent PLUS, from $25,203 to $65,000. Approval depends on a credit check.
Interest starts during college

Interest builds from the day each loan is paid out. At Ole Miss, the parent loan gathers $16,084 of interest before the first payment.

Payments last 10 to 25 years

The federal standard plan sets the length by the balance. Payments on your list run 15 or 20 years.

Pauses still cost money

For loans made from July 2027 on, payment pauses are limited to 9 months in any 24. A 9-month pause on the parent loan at Ole Miss would add up to $10,859, because interest keeps building.

2 · What stands out

What makes each college different

University of Mississippi

Fully covered

Counts the $15,000 a year Academic Merit Scholarship, awarded automatically.

Losing it after year one would add $45,000.

Opportunity: an ACT 32 on the planned December 12, 2026 retest would raise the award to $20,790 a year, $23,160 more over four years.

Auburn University

Not fully covered

No scholarship is counted, because Auburn’s awards are competitive ($7,000 to $17,000 a year on its published chart, with no guarantee).

Even the largest published award would leave about $27,198 not covered.

After every federal loan allowed and all of your savings, part of the cost has no source, starting in year 2.

University of Alabama

Fully covered

Counts the $24,000 a year UA Scholar, awarded automatically. It depends on meeting Alabama’s December 4, 2026 deadline for the application and official test scores.

Keeping it requires a 3.0 GPA and 67% of credits completed; losing it after year one would add $72,000.

The planned December 12, 2026 retest comes after this deadline, so it would not raise this award.

University of Tennessee

Fully covered

The least borrowing on your list, and the only college where every payment ends within 15 years.

Opportunity: no scholarship is counted yet. UT calculates its own weighted core GPA, and at 3.8 or higher your student’s scores earn $5,000 a year ($20,000 more over four years). Your student’s weighted GPA is 3.90, so this is likely but not certain until UT calculates it (apply by January 5, 2027).

Harvard University

Before need-based aid

The $241,574 not covered is a scenario at the full published price, before need-based aid. It is not an estimate of what your family would pay.

Harvard says it meets 100% of demonstrated need and never requires loans. For families earning under $100,000, it expects no parent contribution. Its net price calculator is the way to see your family’s real figure.

3 · Before you decide

Three steps that could change your decision

1
Keep these deadlines
  • December 1, 2026, Auburn: complete your admission file, including official test scores, for merit scholarship consideration; awards are competitive, so none is counted here.
  • December 4, 2026, Alabama: apply and send official test scores, the $96,000 UA Scholar counted here depends on it.
  • January 5, 2027, UT: apply, for scholarship consideration that could add up to $20,000 over four years.
  • January 11, 2027, Auburn: send any updated ACT or SAT scores, the date updated scores must be received to count for scholarship consideration.
  • February 12, 2027, Auburn: submit the FAFSA and the AUSOM scholarship application, its priority date for need-based aid and scholarships.
2
Take the planned ACT retest on December 12, 2026

An ACT 32 raises Ole Miss’s award to $20,790 a year: up to $23,160 more over four years. Ole Miss counts tests taken before enrollment. Ole Miss’s scholarship chart

3
Run Harvard’s net price calculator

It is the one figure that could change Harvard’s $241,574 gap, which is shown before need-based aid. Harvard’s calculator

When aid offers arrive, update your Report with them. It is free, and it replaces our estimates with each college’s actual figures.

4 · More details

The research behind your Report

Optional. Open any section to see the calculations, scholarship terms, and official sources.

How we estimated these numbers
  • Costs are each college’s published cost of attendance for the current year, times four, with no increase assumed.
  • We used your $30,000 in savings before any loans, then federal loans within the yearly limits: your student $5,500, $6,500, $7,500, $7,500 by year; Parent PLUS $20,000 a year and $65,000 in total.
  • Payments use today’s federal rates, 6.52% for your student and 9.07% for Parent PLUS, and the federal standard plan: 10, 15, 20, or 25 years by balance. Rates for new loans are set each spring.
  • Figures include loan fees (1.057% and 4.228%) and the interest that builds during college, assuming loans are paid out in two halves each year, your student’s loans are unsubsidized, and a parent postpones PLUS payments until six months after graduation.
  • Need-based aid is not included. Scholarships are counted only when a college’s published chart makes them automatic, or when they are in an offer you entered.
  • The pause example assumes 9 months at the start of repayment. Rules can change; check studentaid.gov for the rules on your loans.
Every loan, and what a pause could add

Each loan, one line at a time

Who owes itAmount borrowedInterest while in schoolMonthly paymentHow longTotal repaidTotal interest
Ole MissYour student$27,000includes $288 in loan fees$4,246$26915 years$48,450$21,450
Ole MissA parent (Parent PLUS)$57,471includes $2,431 in loan fees$16,084$66520 years$159,627$102,156
AuburnYour student$27,000includes $288 in loan fees$4,246$26915 years$48,450$21,450
AuburnA parent (Parent PLUS)$65,000includes $2,750 in loan fees$17,025$74220 years$178,008$113,008
AlabamaYour student$27,000includes $288 in loan fees$4,246$26915 years$48,450$21,450
AlabamaA parent (Parent PLUS)$51,048includes $2,160 in loan fees$14,895$59620 years$143,107$92,059
UTYour student$27,000includes $288 in loan fees$4,246$26915 years$48,450$21,450
UTA parent (Parent PLUS)$25,203includes $1,067 in loan fees$8,352$34215 years$61,512$36,309
HarvardYour student$27,000includes $288 in loan fees$4,246$26915 years$48,450$21,450
HarvardA parent (Parent PLUS)$65,000includes $2,750 in loan fees$17,025$74220 years$178,008$113,008

Interest on your student’s loans that builds up during school is still owed, but under current federal rules it is generally not added to the loan balance. Interest on a Parent PLUS loan that is postponed while your student is in school is added to the balance when the postponement ends, so the parent then pays interest on it.

If you borrowed the most federal loans allow

  • Ole Miss: borrowing would be about $92,000 ($27,000 for your student, $65,000 for a parent), with about $226,458 repaid in total, including about $134,458 in interest. It would use $22,790 of your savings instead of $30,000.
  • Alabama: borrowing would be about $92,000 ($27,000 for your student, $65,000 for a parent), with about $226,422 repaid in total, including about $134,422 in interest. It would use $16,638 of your savings instead of $30,000.
  • UT: borrowing would be about $83,528 ($27,000 for your student, $56,528 for a parent), with about $200,117 repaid in total, including about $116,589 in interest. It would use $0 of your savings instead of $30,000.

Being able to borrow this much does not mean the payments will fit your budget.

If payments stop for a while

Pausing payments does not always stop a loan from growing

Life does not always allow years of uninterrupted payments. Job changes, hardship, and family events can lead borrowers to pause. Here is what a 9-month pause at the start of repayment could add, for each loan in this Report.

LoanInterest that builds in 9 monthsAdded cost if that interest is paid laterAdded cost if it is added to the balance
Ole MissYour student$1,320$1,731$2,092
Ole MissA parent (Parent PLUS)$5,004$9,558$10,859
AuburnYour student$1,320$1,731$2,092
AuburnA parent (Parent PLUS)$5,580$10,659$12,109
AlabamaYour student$1,320$1,731$2,092
AlabamaA parent (Parent PLUS)$4,486$8,569$9,735
UTYour student$1,320$1,731$2,092
UTA parent (Parent PLUS)$2,283$3,858$4,184
HarvardYour student$1,320$1,731$2,092
HarvardA parent (Parent PLUS)$5,580$10,659$12,109
  • Deferment: on subsidized student loans, the government pays the interest. On unsubsidized student loans and every Parent PLUS loan, interest keeps building, and it is added to the balance when the deferment ends.
  • Forbearance: interest builds on every loan. Under current federal rules it is generally not added to the balance, but it is still owed.
  • Rules for loans made from July 1, 2027 on: unemployment and economic hardship deferments are no longer available, and forbearance is limited to 9 months in any 24-month period. That is why this example uses 9 months.
  • Rules can change. Check studentaid.gov for the rules that apply to your loans.
University of Mississippi: costs, scholarships, year by year, and sources
1

What it costs before any aid

Tuition$31,068Published
Capital improvements fee$100Published
Student activity fee$60Published
Housing$8,030Published
Food$5,580Published
Books and supplies$1,200Published
Personal$3,500Published
Transportation$3,400Published
Cost of attendance, 2026–27$52,938Published

Source: University of Mississippi, published cost of attendance, 2026 - 2027 (read September 18, 2026)

$211,752Modeled
Four-year commitment before aid

Published 2026–27 cost of attendance times four, at current published rates with no increase assumed. This is the size of the commitment before merit, need-based aid, or family money. Every later figure in this section is a subtraction from it.

Applied as out-of-state, living on campus. The billing schedule and payment plan terms are not in our data.

2

Merit that counts as money

$15,000 a yearPublished

Academic Merit Scholarship. Published tier, automatic. Evaluated on unweighted GPA (the college does not state which scale it uses; the lower figure is used); ACT 31 superscore. Renewable for 4 years. Counted as $60,000 over four years.

What would move it, on the published chart

  • ACT 32 (1 point above the score used) reaches the Academic Merit Scholarship at $20,790 a year: $23,160 more over four years.
  • A 3.75 GPA reaches the Academic Merit Scholarship at $18,000 a year: $12,000 more over four years.

The published chart in our data is labeled 2026-2027. The chart for 2027–28 entry may differ; confirm it on the college’s page.

  • Awarded automatically on admission. No separate scholarship application required.
  • Renewable for up to 4 years, subject to the school’s renewal requirements.
  • This school does not publicly specify whether merit thresholds use weighted or unweighted GPA. Use your school-reported GPA; your actual award may differ.
  • This award applies specifically to the non-resident fee portion of tuition.

Source: University of Mississippi, published scholarship information, 2026-2027 (read September 18, 2026)

3

Need-based aid

?

Unknown until University of Mississippi’s net price calculator, then its actual offer

We do not have a sourced statement of this college’s need-based aid policy, so we cannot say whether it meets full need or requires the CSS Profile.

To resolve it: Run University of Mississippi’s net price calculator (find it on the college’s financial aid site) and keep the result. When the actual offer arrives, update your Report with it.

4

Year by year

Year 1 (2027–28)Year 2 (2028–29)Year 3 (2029–30)Year 4 (2030–31)Four years
CostPublished 2026–27 cost of attendance carried at current published rates; no increase assumed$52,938Modeled$52,938Modeled$52,938Modeled$52,938Modeled$211,752
Money that lowers the bill
Scholarships countedPublished tier $15,000, renewed under the college’s terms−$15,000Modeled−$15,000Modeled−$15,000Modeled−$15,000Modeled$60,000
Awards in writing$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0
Need-based grantsNot included. You will know it from the college’s net price calculator, then its offer.UnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown
From your income−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated$40,000
Left to pay$27,938Modeled$27,938Modeled$27,938Modeled$27,938Modeled$111,752
How the rest is paid
From your college savingsUsed before any borrowing−$3,343Stated−$2,353Stated−$3,786Stated−$20,518Stated$30,000
Your student’s federal loan (amount owed)Yearly limits $5,500, $6,500, $7,500, $7,500; includes the loan fee$5,500Modeled$6,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$27,000
Parent PLUS loan (amount owed)Up to $20,000 a year and $65,000 per student; includes the loan fee$20,000Modeled$20,000Modeled$17,471Modeled$0Modeled$57,471
Loan fees inside those amountsTaken out before the money reaches the college$905$915$819$80$2,719
Not covered yet$0Modeled$0Modeled$0Modeled$0Modeled$0

All of the college savings you entered is used. Costs are this year’s published figures with no increase assumed. Federal interest rates and loan fees for loans made from July 2027 on were not published yet; today’s are used.

5

Is every dollar covered?

✓

Every dollar has a source

With $84,471 in federal loans, every dollar of the four-year cost has a source. Repaying those loans costs about $208,077 in total.

These figures assume

  • the $15,000 Academic Merit Scholarship is awarded and renews each year under the college’s terms
  • the family contributes $10,000 from income every year
  • a parent is approved for Parent PLUS ($57,471 over four years)
  • your student borrows $27,000 in federal student loans over four years
  • $30,000 of the college savings you entered is used (all of it)
  • published 2026–27 costs do not rise

What could change them

  • need-based aid, which you will only know from the college’s net price calculator and then its actual offer
  • the merit chart year
6

What could raise the cost

A parent is not approved for Parent PLUS

PLUS carries $57,471 of this plan over four years. Denial moves that amount to savings, a different school, or private financing (which usually needs a cosigner).

$57,471at stake

The Academic Merit Scholarship is not renewed after year one

Renewal is on the college’s terms. Losing it adds the award back to years two through four.

$45,000at stake

A fifth year at published rates

Scholarships in our data last four years at most. A fifth year costs the full published price, less what your family pays from income, and federal student loan limits may already be used up.

$42,938at stake

The family’s $10,000 a year does not hold in one year

Each year the contribution slips, the same amount moves to loans or savings.

$10,000at stake
7

Sources for this college

Published federal terms for reference: Direct undergraduate 6.52% and Parent PLUS 9.07% for loans first disbursed July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. Rates for loans first disbursed July 1, 2027 to June 30, 2028 are set each May and were not published when this report was produced.

Auburn University: costs, scholarships, year by year, and sources
1

What it costs before any aid

Tuition & Fees$37,596Published
Living Expenses (Housing + Food, combined by the college)$18,424Published
Books, course materials, supplies, equipment$1,200Published
Personal$3,088Published
Transportation$3,232Published
Cost of attendance, 2026–27$63,540Published

Source: Auburn University, published cost of attendance, 2026 - 2027

$254,160Modeled
Four-year commitment before aid

Published 2026–27 cost of attendance times four, at current published rates with no increase assumed. This is the size of the commitment before merit, need-based aid, or family money. Every later figure in this section is a subtraction from it.

Applied as out-of-state, living on campus. The billing schedule and payment plan terms are not in our data.

2

Merit that counts as money

UnknownUnknown

Auburn University publishes merit awards but does not guarantee them by GPA and score, so nothing is counted as money here. Auburn's Fall 2026 chart lists nonresident awards from $7,000 to $17,000 a year and Alabama-resident awards from $5,000 a year to full tuition, by GPA and ACT or SAT superscore, and says the chart is a guide, not a guarantee. The tables below carry $0 of merit for this college on purpose: a competitive award, if one is made, would reduce the amount above the federal limits, and the report will pick it up when the actual offer is entered.

Published deadline: December 1, 2026.

Source: Auburn University, published scholarship information, 2026 (read September 19, 2026)

3

Need-based aid

?

Unknown until Auburn University’s net price calculator, then its actual offer

Auburn University states that the FAFSA is the application for need-based aid with a priority date of 2027-02-12. It does not state on the cited page that it meets full demonstrated need, and this report does not assume it does.

To resolve it: Run Auburn University’s net price calculator (find it on the college’s financial aid site) and keep the result. When the actual offer arrives, update your Report with it.

What the college publishes about need-based aidPublished

  • Forms: FAFSA.
“To apply for financial aid at Auburn University, submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).”
“The application should be completed by the February 12 priority date for full consideration.”

Source: Auburn University Financial Aid and Scholarships, First-Year Students (read September 18, 2026)

4

Year by year

Year 1 (2027–28)Year 2 (2028–29)Year 3 (2029–30)Year 4 (2030–31)Four years
CostPublished 2026–27 cost of attendance carried at current published rates; no increase assumed$63,540Modeled$63,540Modeled$63,540Modeled$63,540Modeled$254,160
Money that lowers the bill
Scholarships countedUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown
Awards in writing$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0
Need-based grantsNot included. You will know it from the college’s net price calculator, then its offer.UnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown
From your income−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated$40,000
Left to pay$53,540Modeled$53,540Modeled$53,540Modeled$53,540Modeled$214,160
How the rest is paid
From your college savingsUsed before any borrowing−$28,945Stated−$1,055Stated$0Stated$0Stated$30,000
Your student’s federal loan (amount owed)Yearly limits $5,500, $6,500, $7,500, $7,500; includes the loan fee$5,500Modeled$6,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$27,000
Parent PLUS loan (amount owed)Up to $20,000 a year and $65,000 per student; includes the loan fee$20,000Modeled$20,000Modeled$20,000Modeled$5,000Modeled$65,000
Loan fees inside those amountsTaken out before the money reaches the college$905$915$926$292$3,038
Not covered yet$0Modeled$26,900Modeled$26,966Modeled$41,332Modeled$95,198

Parent PLUS reaches its $65,000 limit per student in year 4. All of the college savings you entered is used. Costs are this year’s published figures with no increase assumed. Federal interest rates and loan fees for loans made from July 2027 on were not published yet; today’s are used.

5

Is every dollar covered?

!

$95,198 is not covered yet

$95,198 over four years has no source yet, starting in year 2 (year 1 $0, year 2 $26,900, year 3 $26,966, year 4 $41,332).

Need-based aid is not included. The list below shows what could cover the rest, in order.

These figures assume

  • the family contributes $10,000 from income every year
  • a parent is approved for Parent PLUS ($65,000 over four years)
  • your student borrows $27,000 in federal student loans over four years
  • $30,000 of the college savings you entered is used (all of it)
  • published 2026–27 costs do not rise

What could change them

  • need-based aid, which you will only know from the college’s net price calculator and then its actual offer
  • a competitive scholarship, which you will only know if the college awards one
6

What could raise the cost

A parent is not approved for Parent PLUS

PLUS carries $65,000 of this plan over four years. Denial moves that amount to savings, a different school, or private financing (which usually needs a cosigner).

$65,000at stake

A fifth year at published rates

Scholarships in our data last four years at most. A fifth year costs the full published price, less what your family pays from income, and federal student loan limits may already be used up.

$53,540at stake

The family’s $10,000 a year does not hold in one year

Each year the contribution slips, the same amount moves to loans or savings.

$10,000at stake
7

What could cover what is left

$95,198 over four years has no source yet (year 1 $0, year 2 $26,900, year 3 $26,966, year 4 $41,332). These are the options families usually look at, in the order most would consider them, with what to check for each. We do not recommend any of them.

  1. 1

    Family income

    Already in the plan at $10,000 a year. Any increase reduces the remainder dollar for dollar.
    Check: Your own budget, each year.
  2. 2

    Savings or 529

    $30,000 entered. In these figures it covers $30,000 and is used up in year 2.
    Check: The plan administrator for qualified-expense rules and the balance on the day of the first bill.
  3. 3

    Additional institutional aid

    Whatever Auburn University’s need-based aid turns out to be (not known yet), plus any appeal the college allows.
    Check: The college’s financial aid office: net price calculator, appeal process.
  4. 4

    Outside scholarships

    Any amount your student wins. Ask the college how outside awards affect its own aid; that policy is not in our data.
    Check: The college’s financial aid office, before accepting an outside award.
  5. 5

    The college’s payment plan

    Spreads a year’s bill across months but does not lower it. Terms and fees are not in our data.
    Check: The college’s billing office (bursar).
  6. 6

    Assumptions the family controls

    A fifth year adds $63,540 at published rates.
    Check: The college’s published chart and cost page; the test date against the college’s deadline.
  7. 7

    More federal loans

    None. These figures already use the full federal loan limits in every year, and Parent PLUS reaches its $65,000 limit in year 4.
    Check: studentaid.gov, and the college’s financial aid office for what it will certify.
  8. 8

    Private education financing

    Private loans would have to cover whatever remains: $95,198 over four years under current assumptions. It depends on credit and usually a cosigner, and its rate, fees, and length are not known until a lender tells you. Listed last because it adds new debt beyond federal loans.
    Check: A lender’s written disclosure. No lender is named or recommended in this report.

CollegeClearly identifies what exists and what it would have to cover. What you do is your decision.

8

Sources for this college

Published federal terms for reference: Direct undergraduate 6.52% and Parent PLUS 9.07% for loans first disbursed July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. Rates for loans first disbursed July 1, 2027 to June 30, 2028 are set each May and were not published when this report was produced.

University of Alabama: costs, scholarships, year by year, and sources
1

What it costs before any aid

Tuition & Fees$36,724Published
Housing$10,000Published
Food$5,478Published
Books$700Published
Transportation$3,354Published
Miscellaneous$4,064Published
Loan fees$80Published
Cost of attendance, 2026–27$60,400Published

Source: University of Alabama, published cost of attendance, 2026 - 2027

$241,600Modeled
Four-year commitment before aid

Published 2026–27 cost of attendance times four, at current published rates with no increase assumed. This is the size of the commitment before merit, need-based aid, or family money. Every later figure in this section is a subtraction from it.

Applied as out-of-state, living on campus. The billing schedule and payment plan terms are not in our data.

2

Merit that counts as money

$24,000 a yearPublished

UA Scholar. Published tier, automatic. Evaluated on unweighted GPA (the college does not state which scale it uses; the lower figure is used); ACT 31 single sitting. Renewable for 4 years at a 3.0 GPA and 67% of credits completed. Counted as $96,000 over four years.

What would move it, on the published chart

  • ACT 32 (1 point above the score used) reaches the Presidential Scholarship at $28,000 a year: $16,000 more over four years.
  • Application deadline: 2026-12-04
  • Awarded automatically on admission. No separate scholarship application required.
  • Renewable for up to 4 years; renewal requires 3.0+ cumulative GPA.
  • This school does not publicly specify whether merit thresholds use weighted or unweighted GPA. Use your school-reported GPA; your actual award may differ.
  • Institutional aid is capped at the school’s cost of attendance.

Published deadline: December 4, 2026.

Source: University of Alabama, published scholarship information, 2027 (read September 19, 2026)

3

Need-based aid

?

Unknown until University of Alabama’s net price calculator, then its actual offer

University of Alabama states that the FAFSA is the application for need-based aid. It does not state on the cited page that it meets full demonstrated need, and this report does not assume it does.

To resolve it: Run University of Alabama’s net price calculator (find it on the college’s financial aid site) and keep the result. When the actual offer arrives, update your Report with it.

What the college publishes about need-based aidPublished

  • Forms: FAFSA.
“Complete the FAFSA for the applicable term each year.”

Source: The University of Alabama, Financial Aid, Apply (read September 18, 2026)

4

Year by year

Year 1 (2027–28)Year 2 (2028–29)Year 3 (2029–30)Year 4 (2030–31)Four years
CostPublished 2026–27 cost of attendance carried at current published rates; no increase assumed$60,400Modeled$60,400Modeled$60,400Modeled$60,400Modeled$241,600
Money that lowers the bill
Scholarships countedPublished tier $24,000, renewed at 3.0+ GPA−$24,000Modeled−$24,000Modeled−$24,000Modeled−$24,000Modeled$96,000
Awards in writing$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0
Need-based grantsNot included. You will know it from the college’s net price calculator, then its offer.UnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown
From your income−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated$40,000
Left to pay$26,400Modeled$26,400Modeled$26,400Modeled$26,400Modeled$105,600
How the rest is paid
From your college savingsUsed before any borrowing−$1,805Stated−$815Stated−$8,400Stated−$18,980Stated$30,000
Your student’s federal loan (amount owed)Yearly limits $5,500, $6,500, $7,500, $7,500; includes the loan fee$5,500Modeled$6,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$27,000
Parent PLUS loan (amount owed)Up to $20,000 a year and $65,000 per student; includes the loan fee$20,000Modeled$20,000Modeled$11,048Modeled$0Modeled$51,048
Loan fees inside those amountsTaken out before the money reaches the college$905$915$548$80$2,448
Not covered yet$0Modeled$0Modeled$0Modeled$0Modeled$0

All of the college savings you entered is used. Costs are this year’s published figures with no increase assumed. Federal interest rates and loan fees for loans made from July 2027 on were not published yet; today’s are used.

5

Is every dollar covered?

✓

Every dollar has a source

With $78,048 in federal loans, every dollar of the four-year cost has a source. Repaying those loans costs about $191,557 in total.

These figures assume

  • the $24,000 UA Scholar is awarded and renews each year (3.0+ GPA, 67% of credits completed)
  • the family contributes $10,000 from income every year
  • a parent is approved for Parent PLUS ($51,048 over four years)
  • your student borrows $27,000 in federal student loans over four years
  • $30,000 of the college savings you entered is used (all of it)
  • published 2026–27 costs do not rise

What could change them

  • need-based aid, which you will only know from the college’s net price calculator and then its actual offer
6

What could raise the cost

The UA Scholar is not renewed after year one

Renewal requires a 3.0 GPA and 67% of credits completed. Losing it adds the award back to years two through four.

$72,000at stake

A parent is not approved for Parent PLUS

PLUS carries $51,048 of this plan over four years. Denial moves that amount to savings, a different school, or private financing (which usually needs a cosigner).

$51,048at stake

A fifth year at published rates

Scholarships in our data last four years at most. A fifth year costs the full published price, less what your family pays from income, and federal student loan limits may already be used up.

$50,400at stake

The family’s $10,000 a year does not hold in one year

Each year the contribution slips, the same amount moves to loans or savings.

$10,000at stake
7

Sources for this college

Published federal terms for reference: Direct undergraduate 6.52% and Parent PLUS 9.07% for loans first disbursed July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. Rates for loans first disbursed July 1, 2027 to June 30, 2028 are set each May and were not published when this report was produced.

University of Tennessee: costs, scholarships, year by year, and sources
1

What it costs before any aid

Cost of attendance, 2026 - 2027$30,212Published

The college’s itemized budget (tuition, fees, housing, food, books, personal, transportation) is not in our data for this college. The total is the published figure from the source listed below.

Source: University of Tennessee, published cost of attendance, 2026 - 2027

$120,848Modeled
Four-year commitment before aid

Published 2026–27 cost of attendance times four, at current published rates with no increase assumed. This is the size of the commitment before merit, need-based aid, or family money. Every later figure in this section is a subtraction from it.

Applied as in-state, living on campus. The billing schedule and payment plan terms are not in our data.

2

Merit that counts as money

$0Published

No tier of the published chart is met by this profile, evaluated on unweighted GPA (the college calculates its own weighted core GPA, so the lower figure is used until it does); ACT 31 superscore. This is a published result, not a gap in our data.

What would move it, on the published chart

  • A 3.80 GPA reaches the In-State Volunteer Scholarship, Tier 2 at $5,000 a year: $20,000 more over four years.

The published chart in our data is labeled 2026-2027. The chart for 2027–28 entry may differ; confirm it on the college’s page.

Published deadline: January 5, 2027.

Source: University of Tennessee, published scholarship information, 2026-2027 (read October 28, 2026)

3

Need-based aid

?

Unknown until University of Tennessee’s net price calculator, then its actual offer

University of Tennessee states that the FAFSA is the application for need-based aid. It does not state on the cited page that it meets full demonstrated need, and this report does not assume it does.

To resolve it: Run University of Tennessee’s net price calculator (find it on the college’s financial aid site) and keep the result. When the actual offer arrives, update your Report with it.

What the college publishes about need-based aidPublished

  • Forms: FAFSA.
“It's important to file a FAFSA every year to remain eligible for aid.”

Source: University of Tennessee, Knoxville, One Stop, Financial Aid (read September 18, 2026)

4

Year by year

Year 1 (2027–28)Year 2 (2028–29)Year 3 (2029–30)Year 4 (2030–31)Four years
CostPublished 2026–27 cost of attendance carried at current published rates; no increase assumed$30,212Modeled$30,212Modeled$30,212Modeled$30,212Modeled$120,848
Money that lowers the bill
Scholarships counted$0Published$0Published$0Published$0Published$0
Awards in writing$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0
Need-based grantsNot included. You will know it from the college’s net price calculator, then its offer.UnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown
From your income−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated$40,000
Left to pay$20,212Modeled$20,212Modeled$20,212Modeled$20,212Modeled$80,848
How the rest is paid
From your college savingsUsed before any borrowing$0Stated−$4,416Stated−$12,792Stated−$12,792Stated$30,000
Your student’s federal loan (amount owed)Yearly limits $5,500, $6,500, $7,500, $7,500; includes the loan fee$5,500Modeled$6,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$27,000
Parent PLUS loan (amount owed)Up to $20,000 a year and $65,000 per student; includes the loan fee$15,424Modeled$9,779Modeled$0Modeled$0Modeled$25,203
Loan fees inside those amountsTaken out before the money reaches the college$712$483$80$80$1,355
Not covered yet$0Modeled$0Modeled$0Modeled$0Modeled$0

All of the college savings you entered is used. Costs are this year’s published figures with no increase assumed. Federal interest rates and loan fees for loans made from July 2027 on were not published yet; today’s are used.

5

Is every dollar covered?

✓

Every dollar has a source

With $52,203 in federal loans, every dollar of the four-year cost has a source. Repaying those loans costs about $109,963 in total.

These figures assume

  • the family contributes $10,000 from income every year
  • a parent is approved for Parent PLUS ($25,203 over four years)
  • your student borrows $27,000 in federal student loans over four years
  • $30,000 of the college savings you entered is used (all of it)
  • published 2026–27 costs do not rise

What could change them

  • need-based aid, which you will only know from the college’s net price calculator and then its actual offer
  • the merit chart year
6

What could raise the cost

A parent is not approved for Parent PLUS

PLUS carries $25,203 of this plan over four years. Denial moves that amount to savings, a different school, or private financing (which usually needs a cosigner).

$25,203at stake

A fifth year at published rates

Scholarships in our data last four years at most. A fifth year costs the full published price, less what your family pays from income, and federal student loan limits may already be used up.

$20,212at stake

The family’s $10,000 a year does not hold in one year

Each year the contribution slips, the same amount moves to loans or savings.

$10,000at stake
7

Sources for this college

Published federal terms for reference: Direct undergraduate 6.52% and Parent PLUS 9.07% for loans first disbursed July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. Rates for loans first disbursed July 1, 2027 to June 30, 2028 are set each May and were not published when this report was produced.

Harvard University: costs, scholarships, year by year, and sources
1

What it costs before any aid

Tuition$62,226Published
Fees$6,216Published
Housing$14,250Published
Food$8,942Published
Estimated Personal Expenses$2,500Published
Estimated Books$1,000Published
Estimated Transportation$5,000PublishedThe college publishes this as a range, $0 to $5,000. The top of the range is used.
Health Insurance (waivable if on family plan) (not in total)$4,954PublishedThe college marks this line as waivable. It is not counted in the published total; add it back if it applies to you.
Cost of attendance, 2026–27$100,134Published

Source: Harvard University, published cost of attendance, 2026 - 2027 (read September 1, 2026)

$400,536Modeled
Four-year commitment before aid

Published 2026–27 cost of attendance times four, at current published rates with no increase assumed. This is the size of the commitment before merit, need-based aid, or family money. Every later figure in this section is a subtraction from it.

Applied as single published rate, living on campus. The billing schedule and payment plan terms are not in our data.

2

Merit that counts as money

UnknownUnknown

No published merit chart is in our data for Harvard University. The college states that its aid is entirely need-based, so no merit is expected here.

3

Need-based aid

?

Unknown until Harvard University’s net price calculator, then its actual offer

Harvard University states that aid is entirely need-based and that it meets 100 percent of demonstrated need. There is no merit chart to model. Everything this college would give this family depends on its need calculation, which only the college can run.

To resolve it: Run Harvard University’s net price calculator and keep the result. When the actual offer arrives, update your Report with it. https://college.harvard.edu/financial-aid/net-price-calculator

What the college publishes about need-based aidPublished

  • Meets full demonstrated need: yes, as stated.
  • Aid is entirely need-based; the college states it does not award merit scholarships.
  • The college states it does not require loans in its aid packages.
  • For families with annual incomes below $100,000, the expected parent contribution is zero. For families with incomes up to $200,000, financial aid will cover at least the full cost of tuition.
“we meet 100 percent of our students' demonstrated financial need”
“Financial aid is completely need-based”
“we will never require you to take out loans”

Source: Harvard College Griffin Financial Aid Office, How Aid Works (read September 18, 2026)

The published statements describe how the college treats families in general. They are not applied to this family’s figures here, because only the college’s calculation can decide what this family’s demonstrated need is. The family’s stated income contribution is a contribution figure, not a household income figure.

4

Year by year

Year 1 (2027–28)Year 2 (2028–29)Year 3 (2029–30)Year 4 (2030–31)Four years
CostPublished 2026–27 cost of attendance carried at current published rates; no increase assumed$100,134Modeled$100,134Modeled$100,134Modeled$100,134Modeled$400,536
Money that lowers the bill
Scholarships countedUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown
Awards in writing$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0Approved$0
Need-based grantsNot included. You will know it from the college’s net price calculator, then its offer.UnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknownUnknown
From your income−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated−$10,000Stated$40,000
Left to pay$90,134Modeled$90,134Modeled$90,134Modeled$90,134Modeled$360,536
How the rest is paid
From your college savingsUsed before any borrowing−$30,000Stated$0Stated$0Stated$0Stated$30,000
Your student’s federal loan (amount owed)Yearly limits $5,500, $6,500, $7,500, $7,500; includes the loan fee$5,500Modeled$6,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$7,500Modeled$27,000
Parent PLUS loan (amount owed)Up to $20,000 a year and $65,000 per student; includes the loan fee$20,000Modeled$20,000Modeled$20,000Modeled$5,000Modeled$65,000
Loan fees inside those amountsTaken out before the money reaches the college$905$915$926$292$3,038
Not covered yet$35,539Modeled$64,549Modeled$63,560Modeled$77,926Modeled$241,574

Parent PLUS reaches its $65,000 limit per student in year 4. All of the college savings you entered is used. Costs are this year’s published figures with no increase assumed. Federal interest rates and loan fees for loans made from July 2027 on were not published yet; today’s are used.

5

Is every dollar covered?

!

$241,574 is not covered yet

$241,574 over four years has no source yet, starting in year 1 (year 1 $35,539, year 2 $64,549, year 3 $63,560, year 4 $77,926).

Read this carefully. Harvard University says it meets full demonstrated need and gives aid based on need alone. The amount above leaves need-based aid out, so it is not a prediction of what your family would pay. The college’s net price calculator, and then its actual offer, are the only way to know.

These figures assume

  • the family contributes $10,000 from income every year
  • a parent is approved for Parent PLUS ($65,000 over four years)
  • your student borrows $27,000 in federal student loans over four years
  • $30,000 of the college savings you entered is used (all of it)
  • published 2026–27 costs do not rise

What could change them

  • need-based aid, which you will only know from the college’s net price calculator and then its actual offer
6

What could raise the cost

A fifth year at published rates

Scholarships in our data last four years at most. A fifth year costs the full published price, less what your family pays from income, and federal student loan limits may already be used up.

$90,134at stake

A parent is not approved for Parent PLUS

PLUS carries $65,000 of this plan over four years. Denial moves that amount to savings, a different school, or private financing (which usually needs a cosigner).

$65,000at stake

The family’s $10,000 a year does not hold in one year

Each year the contribution slips, the same amount moves to loans or savings.

$10,000at stake
7

What could cover what is left

$241,574 over four years has no source yet (year 1 $35,539, year 2 $64,549, year 3 $63,560, year 4 $77,926). These are the options families usually look at, in the order most would consider them, with what to check for each. We do not recommend any of them.

  1. 1

    Family income

    Already in the plan at $10,000 a year. Any increase reduces the remainder dollar for dollar.
    Check: Your own budget, each year.
  2. 2

    Savings or 529

    $30,000 entered. In these figures it covers $30,000 and is used up in year 1.
    Check: The plan administrator for qualified-expense rules and the balance on the day of the first bill.
  3. 3

    Additional institutional aid

    Whatever Harvard University’s need-based aid turns out to be (not known yet), plus any appeal the college allows.
    Check: The college’s net price calculator: https://college.harvard.edu/financial-aid/net-price-calculator
  4. 4

    Outside scholarships

    Any amount your student wins. Ask the college how outside awards affect its own aid; that policy is not in our data.
    Check: The college’s financial aid office, before accepting an outside award.
  5. 5

    The college’s payment plan

    Spreads a year’s bill across months but does not lower it. Terms and fees are not in our data.
    Check: The college’s billing office (bursar).
  6. 6

    Assumptions the family controls

    A fifth year adds $100,134 at published rates.
    Check: The college’s published chart and cost page; the test date against the college’s deadline.
  7. 7

    More federal loans

    None. These figures already use the full federal loan limits in every year, and Parent PLUS reaches its $65,000 limit in year 4.
    Check: studentaid.gov, and the college’s financial aid office for what it will certify.
  8. 8

    Private education financing

    Private loans would have to cover whatever remains: $241,574 over four years under current assumptions. It depends on credit and usually a cosigner, and its rate, fees, and length are not known until a lender tells you. Listed last because it adds new debt beyond federal loans.
    Check: A lender’s written disclosure. No lender is named or recommended in this report.

CollegeClearly identifies what exists and what it would have to cover. What you do is your decision.

8

Sources for this college

Published federal terms for reference: Direct undergraduate 6.52% and Parent PLUS 9.07% for loans first disbursed July 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. Rates for loans first disbursed July 1, 2027 to June 30, 2028 are set each May and were not published when this report was produced.

Where each number comes from

How to read this Report

Where each number comes from

Published
The college, the federal government, or the state publishes this figure; the source and the date we read it are listed.
Approved
An actual award letter or offer states this figure. Approved outranks Published where they conflict, and both are shown.
Modeled
CollegeClearly calculated this figure from published figures, your offers, and what you told us, using the rule shown beside it.
Stated
You entered this figure. It is your own number; CollegeClearly does not check it.
Unknown
This figure cannot be known yet. Each one says where the answer will come from. We never fill it in with an average, a guess, or a placeholder.
Every dollar has a source, with no borrowing
Scholarships and grants counted here, your income, and the college savings you entered cover the full four-year cost.
Every dollar has a source
After scholarships, income, and your college savings, federal loans within the yearly limits (and within your borrowing limit, if you entered one) cover the rest.
Not covered yet
After scholarships, income, savings, and the federal loans allowed, some of the cost still has no source. The list of what could cover it is shown for that college.

Federal loan terms used

CollegeClearly is not a lender, a financial adviser, or a college. This Report shows what is published, what you told us, what follows from them, and what is not known yet. The decisions are yours.

The standard printout includes the comparison, highlights, next steps, and assumptions.